Bathed in Loving Energy in Encinitas

encinitas_temple2001

The SRF Encinitas Temple

I first visited Encinitas, California, in June 2000 as part of the annual Self-Realization Fellowship Convocation. When I walked into the SRF temple where dozens of devotees were silently meditating, I was immediately enveloped in thick, palpable loving energy. I stopped in my tracks, transfixed. I wanted to stay right where I was, rooted to the ground, and let this incredible energy wash over me for hours. I forced myself to sit in a pew but was too overwhelmed to meditate. When I finally walked outside again, I left the energy behind at the door. I walked around in a giddy daze for quite some time.

encinitas-hermitage-oceanside

The SRF Encinitas Hermitage

In January 2005, I was blessed to be able to bring my twenty-five-year-old daughter, Erin, to Encinitas with me. She said she felt a peaceful energy the moment we drove into town. I had been looking forward to showing her Paramahansa Yogananda’s Hermitage a few blocks from the temple. This was where Yogananda lived for quite some time and where he wrote the spiritual classic, Autobiography of a Yogi. After waiting in line with other visitors, we were led inside for a brief tour. When I approached Yogananda’s study, I was overwhelmed with his loving presence. It was very similar to what I felt when I first entered the Encinitas temple back in 2000. It was wonderful, absolutely wonderful. I just wanted to stay bathed in that peaceful, healing energy all day. Even after Erin and I left and were walking down the street, I still felt that energy surging through my body. Erin said she could tell something was happening to me as I stood outside Yogananda’s study. She also said she sensed a peaceful energy in the Hermitage. What a gift to have her with me in Encinitas, my favorite place on Earth!




Click here to view all my posts about Paramahansa Yogananda and Self-Realization Fellowship.




Click here to view all my posts about Encinitas.






Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Bathed in Loving Energy in Encinitas”

  1. Kathy Kirk Says:

    I will certainly attest to the peace and tranquility of the SRF in Encinitas. Back in the 80’s when I was a new comer to San Diego, I found myself living in Leucadia, which is part and parcel of Encinitas. At the time I was selling mortgage loans and found myself stopping at the SRF Meditation Gardens frequently to sit quietly in that beautiful place, watching the sea and the surfers and letting all the noise in my head recede. In later years, I would go there just to watch the sunset. Many a time I blessed the SRF for offering this sanctuary to the general public. I got to be there and for that, I hold a special place for it in my heart. Truly this place assisted me on my spiritual path, as well.

    Kathy Kirk

    http://appliedspirituality.com

  2. Phil Bolsta Says:

    That’s wonderful that you experienced the SRF Meditation Gardens like that, Kathy. I share your love of that place. Upon my return there after a year or two away, I stood on the grounds with my eyes closed and thought of all the times I had wished I could be where I was now standing so that I could gaze out at the ocean once again while basking in the healing energies of Yogananda’s Hermitage. And then I opened my eyes and there I was, right where I had yearned to be. What a beautiful day that was!

  3. NJ Paust Says:

    I was at this place in the 1970s! :) Told my twitter friend Dawn Abraham about it! I love SRF & Yogananda! Did you get to go into his study/office? I’m trying to remember–didn’t it have a back patio garden area overlooking the ocean? Or is my memory a bit off? :) Thanks for the twitter follow!

  4. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Yes, I actually wrote about standing outside his study in the above post. It was an incredible experience.

    Your memory is correct, as the photo above confirms!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 392 other followers

