Rita Klaus’ Miraculous Healing from Multiple Sclerosis

I first became aware of Rita Klaus’ remarkable story in Dr. Larry Dossey‘s groundbreaking book, Reinventing Medicine (pages 141-143). Dr. Dossey also includes stories of people completely healing from cancer, leukemia and other diseases after their doctors had bluntly told them that all hope was gone.

Rita Klaus

Rita Klaus


Here, in Rita’s own words, is the story of how she was completely healed from her MS. This account can be found in chapter twenty-one of Wayne Weible‘s book, Medjugorje The Message. Rita, a former nun, has appeared on numerous TV shows, including Oprah. She also authored her own book, Rita’s Story.



UPDATE: Rita’s daughter, Ellen, e-mailed me an update about her mother on January 31, 2009, which you will find at the end of this post!



EXCERPT FROM RITA KLAUS’ BOOK, RITA’S STORY

Three months ago, I had Multiple Sclerosis. I had had it for more than 25 years. I was first diagnosed as having it when I was 20 years old, and it was difficult to accept. Of course I went through all the channels of denying I had it; I just would not accept it. As it began to progress, I rationalized it was something else. It was ruining my life; I was depressed and very angry inside — and very hurt. Yet I wanted to do what God wanted me to do.

About five years ago, a friend asked me to come to a healing service, but I really wasn’t into the Charismatic Movement, so I tried to get out of going. But my friend wouldn’t take no for an answer, and my husband pointed out that I had tried everything else, so what could it hurt to go?

The service began with the praying of a rosary, so that wasn’t so bad. I was sitting in a pew towards the back of the church, and when the procession of priests started, I felt someone grab me from behind. At first I was totally embarrassed, because I had already made up my mind that I wasn’t going to volunteer to go to the front for special prayers or anything. Then something strange happened; I felt this wonderful peace come over me. It was as if all the unhappiness of the years of suffering through this disease suddenly disappeared.

Returning home that evening, I vowed to improve my spiritual life. Up to this point, I was very bitter towards the Catholic Church. Though I had continued to attend Mass, I was simply going through the motions. Now, I wanted to make up for that. I told my pastor what had happened and asked him to pray that I might continue to be at peace.

By the end of that year the paralysis was in both legs and my arms. This, of course, upset me because of my work as a teacher, and because of my husband and children, and the hardship it put on them. But I had a good parish. Neighbors drove me to school, my husband scrubbed floors, and the kids helped out where they could.

Meanwhile, my legs became severely deformed, and the bones began to bow. My right knee became completely displaced because of the spasticity of the leg; the knee-cap came off and slid over into the interior of the leg. Also, there was now no feeling left at all.

At this stage I was forced to go to a rehabilitation hospital. It was time to face up to the fact that I was handicapped — and to begin life in a wheelchair. My husband could accept the braces and the crutches, but he couldn’t stand the wheelchair. Yet it was something we both would have to face and live with. We loved the outdoors and liked to go camping. This would really slow that down for us.

But there were some good things happening. Many people pitched in to help, and the state came in and installed thousands of dollars worth of equipment in the school where I was teaching and in my home.

As I said earlier, I had sent off for the book about the apparitions at Medjugorje. I was really impressed and told my husband about it, but he’s not Catholic — he’s Lutheran, so it didn’t have much effect on him. Anyway, we tried to improve our prayer life, and I personally set aside an extra hour each day for meditation.

Then, one night in June this year, as I lay in bed finishing my rosary, I heard a voice say, Why don’t you ask? I don’t know why, because I had never asked before to be healed. I had come to accept my handicap. But it just came to me as I lay there. So I asked with all my heart for her to ask her Son to heal me of whatever I needed to be healed. At that moment I felt a bubbly feeling go through me, and I don’t remember anything else as I fell asleep.

When I awoke the next morning, I didn’t think about the night before. I had a Scripture class I attended at a nearby college, and I prepared to go to that class. My husband helped me into our van which was equipped with hand controls for me, and he placed my wheelchair in the van as he always did. When I got to the college, there was always someone there to help me and get me to class.

I didn’t notice anything unusual right away. Suddenly, as I sat there studying with the rest of the class, I began to experience a feeling of warmth in my feet and legs and an intense itching. But there was no way this could be happening, as I had no feeling in my feet and hadn’t for several years. Then I looked down at my feet and not only were they itching, but my toes were wiggling! I was totally dumbfounded!

I didn’t remember another thing in the class; in fact, I don’t even remember leaving the class and getting into my van. All I wanted to do at that time was get home and tell my family what was happening to me.

As I arrived at my house, I remembered that there was no one home. I had complained earlier that I had no strawberries and would they please go to the strawberry farm and pick some for me if they had time that morning. Evidently, they had gone and not returned in time to get me into the house. They did have the foresight to leave my crutches at the bottom of the three steps leading into our house. Occasionally, if I needed to get into the house, I could do it with the crutches. But it took a great deal of difficulty to do it.

Well, I sat there in the car for about 15 minutes, waiting. I was filled with disappointment because I wanted so much to tell them what was happening. Then, I had to go to the bathroom. My handicap also included bladder and bowel dysfunction, and I had been in class all morning. . . . so I had to get in and get in right away!

I stretched out of the car and got the crutches Ron had left for me within easy reach. I could not, however, lift my leg with the heavy braces on them. I stood there for a few minutes and then thought that if I could feel my feet—maybe I could also lift my leg. I tried it, and it went up the steps with no difficulty. My heart was pounding!

Once in the house, I went to my bedroom on the first floor and leaning against the bed to unlock my braces, I looked down at my legs. I thought they looked kind of funny; then I looked again and it hit me that my right leg was completely straight! I had had two surgeries on it to attempt to straighten it, but neither had been successful. In fact, they had finally released the kneecap (surgically) to let it go with the rest of my knee, stating that was all they could do with it. A severe valgus deformity had resulted from the years of spasticity and muscle imbalance.

As I looked now, it was straight. The kneecap was where it was supposed to be. My legs were perfectly straight!

At that point, I completely flipped out and began screaming that my legs were straight. I kept saying, “Thank you Blessed Mother! Thank you Jesus!” But it still had not sunk in that I was healed. Shaking, I took off the braces and stood up on my legs, unassisted, for the first time in years. I looked down again; they were like anyone else’s legs! Finally it struck me that something very wonderful had happened.

I walked down the hallway. . . walked down the hallway, with my crutches under my arm. When I got to the base of the stairs, I thought: well, if I’m really healed, I can run up those stairs. So I dropped my crutches and did it — and then ran back down and up again. And I just kept shouting “Thank you!” over and over. I went a little hysterical, weeping and laughing at the same time. . . . I was in shock. I felt like St. Paul when he was knocked off his horse. Finally, when I had sobered up a little, I decided to tell someone so I tried to call my pastor. But I kept dialing my own number! When I got through to him I said, “Father Bergman, I’m healed! I’m healed! I don’t have MS anymore!” And he answered, “Who is this?” I said, “This is Rita — I’m fine, you don’t understand, I’m healed!” Then, after a moment of silence he said, “Rita, I want you to sit down, take some aspirin and call your doctor — promise me you’ll do that!”

I didn’t know what else to say, so I just hung up on him and called a good friend who also taught at St. Gregory’s. She recognized my voice, but by this time, I could hardly talk, and she thought something terrible had happened. She flew to the house, and that’s something because we live way out in the country. I remember I was standing in the middle of the living room floor, jumping up and down when she arrived; soon we were both jumping up and down as she realized what was happening.

My friend calmed me down some and said we needed to find my family so that we could tell them, so we left for the strawberry farm. Since we had to go by the rectory of the church, we decided to stop and show my pastor that I was healed. He was in the study, and when he saw me standing in front of him, it hit him what had happened. All Father Bergman could do was stare at me, and he kept saying, “Sit down, Rita, you haven’t used those muscles for a long time!’ I told him I was fine and that I felt like I was 17 again!

We left there and headed for the farm, but when we arrived, my family had left, so we were off again for the house. When we got there, my friend ran in to get Ron who came out, white as a sheet. He thought something must have happened, because my car was still there and the braces and crutches were in the house, and that an ambulance must have come and taken me to the hospital.

I jumped out of the car and ran to him. My oldest daughter just stood there in tears and completely dumbfounded and choked up. She’s twelve and my other two daughters are ten and seven. They had never known me any way other than handicapped.

It was. . . an indescribable scene. My oldest was crying, the middle one just stood there with her mouth open, and my little one said, “Oh, goody! Now we don’t have to do housework anymore!” She followed that with, “You look silly, Mom!”

After awhile, we all calmed down and decided we better call my doctor. Would you believe, he was out playing golf! The next day, I went back to my Scripture class, but I didn’t know what to do about them. If I told them, the class would be totally disrupted so I decided to go in the wheelchair. That was the hardest thing ever — to have to sit there in that chair knowing I was well. Later, when I returned home we were finally able to contact my doctor.

We told him what had happened, and he kept saying, “That can’t be! That can’t happen; it’s impossible!” He asked my husband if I was walking, and he said, “No, she’s running!” He asked us to come to the hospital right away.

When we got there, everyone on the staff was waiting. I had just been there a couple of weeks before that. They were stunned. My doctor thought it was a joke, saying I must be Rita’s twin sister. He then conducted a lot of neurological tests and found everything to be perfect. After exhaustive tests, all he could do was hug me and cry and ask me what did I do? I told him all I did was ask. How many times? Once, I answered him, but many people have been praying for me for years. He then asked, did I use up all the prayers, or were there still some for him? It was wonderful.

Since this has happened to me, many things in my life have changed. I witness now to other MS patients, and to groups. And I pray a lot to God and His Holy Mother. I just ask you to pray that whatever I do, I do it well. Thank you, and God bless you.


Here is an e-mail update I received from Rita’s daughter, Ellen Klaus Kovalsky, on January 31, 2009. I reprint it here with her permission:

Sure thing Phil. I can give you a quick update now. She’s doing great, other than the typical stuff that comes with age. She and my dad now live in Florida. They have an RV, do a lot of traveling throughout the state and in between there and Pennsylvania, where they continue to spend their summers. They have two dogs whom they are VERY dedicated to! There’s not too much else to note on, but she continues to do well—no MS symptoms.

Ellen





And here is a seven-minute video sent to me by Greg Montgomery, who believes that he was cured of MS through prayer.






ABOUT PHIL BOLSTA

Through God’s Eyes: Finding Peace and Purpose in a Troubled World, is a road map for living a more peaceful, beautiful life. It’s the one book that explains how dozens of spiritual principles interact, how to weave them together into a cohesive worldview, and how to practically apply this spiritual wisdom to daily life.

Who will benefit from reading Through God’s Eyes?
Anyone who is on a spiritual path, or wants to start one.
Anyone who loves life, or wants to learn how to.
Anyone who is happy, or wants to be happier.

Click here to order your copy of Through God’s Eyes from GodsEyesAmazon.com.
For an inscribed copy, click here to e-mail Phil for information.

Click on the link below to download a FREE 28-page chapter!
SEE EVERY MOMENT AS A GIFT

Click here to visit the Through God’s Eyes website.

Click here to ask Phil to add you to his e-mail list for updates on his blog and books.

Here is a two-minute video introduction to Through God’s Eyes.



Like to learn more about Through God’s Eyes? Here is a free 44-page PDF sampler from the book that includes:

• an overview of the book
• the complete table of contents
• the Foreword by Caroline Myss
• my Introduction
• chapter excerpts
• a sample end-of-chapter story
• endorsements from authors and thought leaders

Just click on the link below to download your free PDF sampler!
THROUGH GOD’S EYES PDF SAMPLER




Schedule a Mastery Mentoring phone session with Phil to learn how to apply principles of spiritual living more effortlessly and effectively. Priced affordably! Click here to e-mail Phil for details.



logic-of-living-a-spiritual-life-book-cover

Phil’s eBook, The Logic of Living a Spiritual Life: Supporting a Life of Faith Through Logic and Reason, is now available for 99 cents.

Order it at GodIsLogical.com.

In this eBook, you’ll find answers to questions like:
• What is the cornerstone of a spiritual life, and why?
• What is the secret to liberating yourself from other people’s judgments and expectations?
• How do you reconcile the “free will vs. Divine Will” conundrum?
• Why is there an exception to “Everything happens for a reason”?


Those who worship logic instead of God are only half right. Not only is it logical to believe in God and to live a faith-based life, the existence of a loving, benevolent God that governs all creation is perhaps the only systematic worldview that explains every aspect of life.



SiSe_fullcover_final.inddPhil is also the author of Sixty Seconds: One Moment Changes Everything, a collection of 45 inspiring, life-changing stories from prominent authors and thought leaders he interviewed. The roster of storytellers includes Wayne Dyer, Deepak Chopra, Neale Donald Walsch, Caroline Myss, Larry Dossey, Rachel Naomi Remen, Bernie Siegel, Dean Ornish, and Christiane Northrup. Sixty Seconds has been translated into four languages: Italian, German, Spanish, and Portuguese. Reading this book is like spending a few minutes face to face with each of the contributors and listening to their personal stories.

Click here to order Sixty Seconds.

Click here to read unsolicited testimonials from readers.

Learn more by visiting the official Sixty Seconds website.

Here is a three-minute video introduction to Sixty Seconds.





Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

32 Responses to “Rita Klaus’ Miraculous Healing from Multiple Sclerosis”

  1. Deb Reilly Says:

    God’s decisions are perfect. I’m so happy for Rita!

    My sister Jeannie is also being cured of MS, though not as quickly. Also a teacher who went to a healing service, Jeannie has gone from having morphine pumped into her spine and going from bed to a scooter to a wheelchair to walking through the mall without a cane and driving herself. I can’t wait to share Rita’s story with her!

  2. Phil Bolsta Says:

    That’s wonderful, Deb! Please keep me posted on your sister’s progress.

  3. Julie LaGuardia Says:

    HI, My mother and I were watching an episode of Unsolved Mysteries when we saw Rita Klaus’s story for the first time. I first want to say that I am so very happy for Rita. I believe in her miraculous healing. I to am hoping and praying for a miraculous healing from Parkinson’s Disease. What we want to know is – the church shown in the beginning of the show looks exactly like our church St. Bartholomew’s in Middleburg Hts. OH. Is it possibly the same church or is it another church that very closely resembles it? Thank you so much and God Bless.
    Julie

  4. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Never give up hope, Julie. God works in mysterious ways.

    I’m sorry, but I have no idea about the church.

  5. Ellen Klaus Kovalsky Says:

    Hi all. Rita is my mother. I just wanted to make a correction on a detail mentioned above. My dad’s name is actually “Ron” and not “Ray”. I’m guessing this was taken from something Wayne Weible wrote. That bothers my dad to this day:)

    Ellen Klaus Kovalsky

  6. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Thank you so much, Ellen. I will make the change at once. Please let me know if I need to make any more revisions. If you’d like to give me an update on your mother’s condition, I would be happy to add it.

  7. Jeff Says:

    Mrs. Klaus was my 4th grade teacher. Glad to hear everything is good.

  8. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Cool. Thanks for checking in, Jeff!

  9. Greg Montgomery Says:

    I too was healed of MS May 28th 1998. God is so Awesome! If you’d like I have a video that my church did of my testimony.

    Blessings
    Greg

  10. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Wow, that’s awesome, Greg! Yes, I’d like to see your video.

  11. John Porteous Says:

    I am co-ordinator of a Catholic Convention in Auckland New Zealand. Rita spoke at our event perhaps 13 or maybe 15 years ago; she has a great testimony. I have heard a whisper that Rita’s MS may have returned; can any one confirm this. Also, if Ellen gets to see this message would she kindly give Rita our warmest regards.

  12. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Hi, John! As of a year ago, it’s my understanding that Rita was fine. I haven’t heard anything since. Thanks for checking in!

  13. Augusta Says:

    I have been searching for updates on Rita’s condition for years and haven’t found anything at all. It was like she just fell off the face of the earth. I’m sorry, but this made me think she may have relapsed and didn’t want anyone to know about it. I don’t understand the secrecy and why she doesn’t keep everyone updated herself. If she is still doing well, this is just as miraculous as her initial healing and I can’t imagine why she wouldn’t want to keep her readers updated regularly. Her story is my absolute favorite and I pray the Lord continues to bless her.

  14. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Augusta, at the end of this post is an update on Rita sent by her daughter Ellen. She was continuing to do well.

  15. Greg Montgomery Says:

    Phil, May the 28 2010 marked the 12th year since the Lord touched me. No more symptoms no more issues.. Just WONDERFULLY HEALED!
    God Rocks!

  16. Phil Bolsta Says:

    That’s awesome, Greg! Thanks so much for letting me know!

    NOTE TO READERS: Greg’s seven-minute video is included at the end of this post.

  17. Selma Says:

    I just read the book written by Rita Klaus-I loved the book and was inspired after reading it. Is there anyway to get in touch with Rita?

  18. Phil Bolsta Says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed Rita’s book, Selma. Sorry, but I don’t know how to contact Rita directly.

  19. KK Says:

    I remember hearing Rita speak in a church near McKeesport PA. Does she still speak in public? and I hear so much about these types of cures, does the medical community ever publish or document this information anywhere?

  20. Phil Bolsta Says:

    To the best of my knowledge, Rita is no longer doing public speaking, KK. Does the medical community publish such stories? I doubt it. But people in the medical community certainly talk about such stories in their books and lectures. I highly recommend you check out Dr. Larry Dossey’s book that I mention at the beginning of this post. That book is where I learned about Rita. I have come to know Larry and can unequivocally recommend him and his writings. For an interview I did recently with Larry, visit:

    http://bolstablog.wordpress.com/2010/09/18/dossey-prayer/

  21. Eva Opee Says:

    Hi Rita’s story is just wonderful I am a Catholic and have been praying for my younger sister Anne she has had MS for fourteen years. We live in Kenya (Africa) and one day through the mercies of God and the intercession of our blessed Virgin Mother Mary Anne will be completely healed I will definately tell you all about her story then. Rita just in case you read this article Pray for Anne thank you
    Eva
    God bless you

  22. Phil Bolsta Says:

    May your prayers be answered soon, Eva.

  23. Rita Doerr Says:

    I finished reading Rita’s Story about 15 minutes ago. I’ve been going through an emotional legal battle since 13 January 2010. A friend of mine lent me her book and just said read it you may find something. I laid it on a shelf for a couple of months and thought yep I’ll find out she had a perfect life praise God. I tried giving the book back to my friend and she said not until you read it and if it takes the rest of your life so be it. Then one day I decided to start reading so I could give my friend her book back. I was all ready to say that was so inspirational while holding in a sarcastic tone. But to my surprise it was exactly what my friend knew I needed and although she didn’t tell me why I needed to read it I know I did. I’m not sure exactly what part was meant for me or maybe the whole story was. I do know at one point near the end I got the clear idea or was it a message if you believe I helped her every time she needed me what makes you think I won’t help you. I guess if there’s any way to do it let Rita know I want someone to give her a hug for me, thank her for reminding me to believe, and I’m thanking God she decided to write her story so I could read it.

  24. Phil Bolsta Says:

    I’m glad that RIta’s story meant so much to you, Rita. Best of luck to you.

  25. Phil Wala Says:

    My wife was healed of MS on June 8, 2003, a couple hours after being prayed for at church. Her story appears here: http://walamn.com/Vonna%27s-Story.php, and is also told in Chapter 7 of the just-published book “Miracles Are For Real” by Jim Garlow and Keith Wall. I had to laugh when I read Rita’s story, because my wife’s doctor thought the same thing the first time he saw her after the healing — that it was a joke being played on him by a twin sister! Today marks 8½ years since the healing, and not one symptom has ever returned.

  26. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Wow. That’s awesome, Phil. Funny, but people who refuse to believe that such healings can take place often argue that if it were true, then “the whole world would know about it.” Well, there are plenty of stories like Rita’s and your wife’s out there, but no matter how much they are publicized and celebrated, the skeptics conveniently ignores them because they don’t want to have to alter their perception of “reality.” May you and your wife continue to be blessed with health and happiness!

  27. Michael Shannon Says:

    I HAVE A CASSETTE OF RITA DESCRIBING HER STORY FROM 1987 OR SO. THERE WAS MORE DETAIL THERE SO I HAVE PROVIDED IT. HER WORDS ONLY. WHEN I HEARD THIS CASSETTE I BELIEVED IT TOTALLY. THAT WAS THE FIRST TIME I EVER FULLY BELIEVED A MIRACLE STORY WITHOUT SOME DOUBT LIKE “YEAH MAYBE”. HER STORY WAS FULLY CONVINCING TO ME. I HAVE COME TO BELIEVE IN MEDJUGORJE FULLY ALSO AND GIVE THANKS TO GOD FOR ALLOWING MOTHER MARY TO GIVE US ADVICE FROM HEAVEN. HER ADVICE IN ONE WORD WOULD BE TO PRAY UNCEASINGLY.

    BELOW IS RITA TALKING ON THE CASSETTE.
    ************************************************************
    . I just finished my rosary on the night of the 18th and it must have been around 11:30 and a sudden thought came to me uh , Why don’t you ask ?, and I thought “Ask What ?” ………. and all of a sudden the words just came to me and I said, “Dear Mary Queen of Peace, whom I believe is appearing to the 6 children at Medjugorje, Would you please ask your son to heal me anywhere I need to be healed? I know your son said that if you have Faith and you say to that mountain Move, that it will move, I believe please help my unbelief. And at that moment I felt a very strange sensation of warmth and like electricity through my body and I thought “that’s strange, and I thought oh its your imagination …and I don’t remember another thing I must have fallen instantly asleep, I don’t remember my husband coming up or anything. And when I woke next morning about 6:30, I didn’t notice anything out of the ordinary I got up my husband helped me, I got dressed and he got me down to the car, got my wheelchair in and sent me on my way. When I got to the college, Laverne the girl that was helping me for the week got my chair out got me into the class … still I noticed nothing. And it was about the break in the morning when Laverne who would usually take me to the restroom, in the other building, the building we were in had no accessible uh restroom. And I noticed an intense feeling of itching in my feet and I thought “that’s strange”. What is that ? and I bent down to scratch and as I bent down I noticed my toes in my big orthopedic shoes that were attached to my braces were going up and down and up and down and I was absolutely flabbergasted. Because we had been to several doctors and had my electromyographies and everything done and there was nothing there it was flat …..there was no more nerve activity down there, there is no physical therapy that can help, go home. And all I wanted to do was hurry up and go home and tell my husband because I will never forget the day the doctors told him that, he was so crushed. And I wanted to go home and show him and I bent down and I scratched and I could feel…….I had feeling insides my legs.
    ********************************************************
    THERE IS MORE BUT I WAS MOSTLY INTERESTED IN HER PRAYER. ON OPRAH WINFREY’S SHOW RITA SAID THE PRAYER CAME TO HER FROM THE HOLY SPIRIT. OPRAH ASKED HER HOW SHE DISTINGUISHED THE hOLY SPIRIT FROM HER OWN THOUGHTS AND SHE SAID BECAUSE I HAD FEAR AND I DON’T HAVE FEAR FROM MY OWN THOUGHTS.
    PEACE,
    MIKE SHANNON

  28. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Thanks for adding this, Mike. I appreciate it.

  29. carole domasco Says:

    Hi Mr. Bosta
    My daughters, Carole and June attended St. Gregory’s School and we had the pleasure of know Rita Klaus during and after her healing. Is there any chance that you could ask her to email me. I would really enjoy talking to her again as it has been many, many years since my daughters left that wonderful school. Thank you so much.

  30. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Sounds like some very nice memories, Carole. I will let Rita’s daughter know about your request.

  31. Ralp Depalma Says:

    Hi Rita.
    You can’t imagine how truly happy and inspired I am knowing what had happened to you! I too am afflicted with this unforgiving diesease, To make it even worse, it was affecting my handwriting abilities along with my speech. Someone had told me I sounded really drunk. I know it’s a little late but I can say for sure that I know what you had gone through.I am a positive person by nature and I believe that this will help as well Keep well, talk to you soon!

  32. jesushealsaddicts Says:

    This was an excellent book! I will not argue with anyone regarding her denomination ( my friends and fellow church members will debate me forever on the evils of ” denominations” lol) This book shows a woman of great faith and a God who still performs miracles! This was my first introduction into God’s healing power. I, myself have been healed supernaturally, and my whole blog is about that. Thank you for sharing Rita’s incredible story!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 416 other followers

