Neale Donald Walsch Addresses Suicide

neale-donald-walsch

Neale Donald Walsch






Neale Donald Walsch, author of the Conversations with God series, devoted a post on his blog this week to a comment from a man who was considering suicide. I have lost a number of friends and loved ones to suicide. I share Neale’s post with you now in the hope that his words may provide comfort to anyone who is in a dark place.







SUICIDE IS NOT THE ANSWER

Yesterday a person who posted in the Comments Section here without a name indicated that he was close to suicide. I need to respond to that post, and I invite you to do the same. Here is the comment as originally entered…

No Name
November 12, 2008 8:31 AM
I am as close to suicide as I have ever been. It terrifies me. Im 32, i have my health, I have 2 beautiful young children whom I adore, a wife who has wisdom and kindness that blows me away. I have read your books several times, they changed my outlook, I love your books and I believe the message. But believing is not the same as experiencing. I am unable to experience it…..

Reading so much of what you wrote was more like being reminded of things I already new instinctively, it wasn’t like I was learning new stuff.

But here I am, now, in the moment. And I just want it to end. I loathe this world, I feel like I was supposed to be something, to do something to make it better, but that I’ll never know what it is.

Words fail me, confusion imprisons me here, I wish I could type more through the buzzing behind my eyes. Its the tears that wont come and they sting like hell.

My dear friend…I want to invite you to read Home with God in a Life That Never Ends. In it you will find a remarkable commentary on ending one’s life, on what is accomplished by doing that, and on what occurs as a result of such a decision.

As I read your post the first thing that struck me is your age. I am 65, my friend, and I can tell you that you have many more years to go in which to “do something” to make life better for yourself and for everyone whose life you touch. My present work in the world did not begin until I was 53 years old. All the rest was preparation. Do not mistake “preparation” for failure. Something immensely important is gained during the years we are preparing to make our major contribution. Do not confuse gain with loss. There is nothing lost in learning, and all the experience of all the years will serve you dramatically one day.

There are several important questions to look at during this time in your life — and you could do well to spend years exploring them. The Four Profound Questions of Life are:

1. Who am I?
2. Where am I?
3. Why am I where I am?
4. What am I doing here?

Take a year each for every question. Look into these inquiries deeply. You are a young man. You have already, by your own accounting, been gifted with so much. Now gift yourself with the treasure of Time. Have patience with yourself. Allow life to bring you the right and perfect opportunities to express and experience your highest self.

I want to encourage you to read an extraordinary book by Byron Katie titled Loving What Is. And then to go to Byron Katie’s website and learn all you can about The Work. What is “The Work”? Check it out. It is too much to go into here.

Thanksgiving is nearly upon us. The winter holy days are coming. Get in touch with gratitude, and with God, during these days. Read Happier Than God. It gives you some very practical tools in achieving inner peace. Then order an advance copy of When Everything Changes, Change Everything: In a Time of Turmoil, a Doorway to Peace. This is my latest book, and it will be published in April. Advance orders may be placed at Hampton Roads Publishing Company. Look them up on the Internet.

Write me again when you’ve finished with Happier Than God. I want to know what you think of it and whether it provided you with any tools you found useful.





Click here to see all my posts featuring Neale Donald Walsch.





Click here to see all my posts about suicide prevention.






ABOUT PHIL BOLSTA

Through God’s Eyes: Finding Peace and Purpose in a Troubled World, is a road map for living a more peaceful, beautiful life. It’s the one book that explains how dozens of spiritual principles interact, how to weave them together into a cohesive worldview, and how to practically apply this spiritual wisdom to daily life.

Who will benefit from reading Through God’s Eyes?
Anyone who is on a spiritual path, or wants to start one.
Anyone who loves life, or wants to learn how to.
Anyone who is happy, or wants to be happier.

Click here to order your copy of Through God’s Eyes from GodsEyesAmazon.com.
For an inscribed copy, click here to e-mail Phil for information.

Click on the link below to download a FREE 28-page chapter!
SEE EVERY MOMENT AS A GIFT

Click here to visit the Through God’s Eyes website.

Click here to ask Phil to add you to his e-mail list for updates on his blog and books.

Here is a two-minute video introduction to Through God’s Eyes.



Like to learn more about Through God’s Eyes? Here is a free 44-page PDF sampler from the book that includes:

• an overview of the book
• the complete table of contents
• the Foreword by Caroline Myss
• my Introduction
• chapter excerpts
• a sample end-of-chapter story
• endorsements from authors and thought leaders

Just click on the link below to download your free PDF sampler!
THROUGH GOD’S EYES PDF SAMPLER




Schedule a Mastery Mentoring phone session with Phil to learn how to apply principles of spiritual living more effortlessly and effectively. Priced affordably! Click here to e-mail Phil for details.



logic-of-living-a-spiritual-life-book-cover

Phil’s eBook, The Logic of Living a Spiritual Life: Supporting a Life of Faith Through Logic and Reason, is now available for 99 cents.

Order it at GodIsLogical.com.

In this eBook, you’ll find answers to questions like:
• What is the cornerstone of a spiritual life, and why?
• What is the secret to liberating yourself from other people’s judgments and expectations?
• How do you reconcile the “free will vs. Divine Will” conundrum?
• Why is there an exception to “Everything happens for a reason”?


Those who worship logic instead of God are only half right. Not only is it logical to believe in God and to live a faith-based life, the existence of a loving, benevolent God that governs all creation is perhaps the only systematic worldview that explains every aspect of life.



SiSe_fullcover_final.inddPhil is also the author of Sixty Seconds: One Moment Changes Everything, a collection of 45 inspiring, life-changing stories from prominent authors and thought leaders he interviewed. The roster of storytellers includes Wayne Dyer, Deepak Chopra, Neale Donald Walsch, Caroline Myss, Larry Dossey, Rachel Naomi Remen, Bernie Siegel, Dean Ornish, and Christiane Northrup. Sixty Seconds has been translated into four languages: Italian, German, Spanish, and Portuguese. Reading this book is like spending a few minutes face to face with each of the contributors and listening to their personal stories.

Click here to order Sixty Seconds.

Click here to read unsolicited testimonials from readers.

Learn more by visiting the official Sixty Seconds website.

Here is a three-minute video introduction to Sixty Seconds.





Tags: , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Neale Donald Walsch Addresses Suicide”

  1. Tony Says:

    Neale’s words on suicide are extremely encouraging, good post.

  2. Phil Bolsta Says:

    I’m glad you found it meaningful, Tony.

  3. Stella Says:

    No book is going to help No Name. He will have to look inside himself. It is very easy to deal with one who is hurting by recommending a book. It is another thing entirely to create a personal relationship with one who is hurting and to tell them the truth.

    Our author says “I can tell you that you have many more years to go in which to ‘do something’ to make life better for yourself and for everyone whose life you touch.”
    Is this coming from the man who says “There is nothing that must be done'” and “there is no such thing as ‘better'”
    Inconsistancy is really glaring here.

  4. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Stella, a book may be just the thing that will trigger a person to begin an inner journey. That is indeed where the answers lie but we never know what will cause someone to begin that quest.

    No inconsistencies whatsoever. You’re talking about two different perspectives here that dovetail perfectly: the human view and the big-picture divine view. They may sound paradoxical but they work together seamlessly.

  5. Samantha Says:

    I’m in a similar spot as No Name. At least he has a family who is supportive and cares. I have no one to comfort me and no one I fully trust— not even myself. It sucks. I believe the message but can’t seem to experience it either. No matter how much NDW I read, it just can’t change my thoughts longer than a day. :(

  6. Phil Bolsta Says:

    I’m sorry you are in such a dark place, Samantha. As far as changing your thoughts, I can recommend something that absolutely works—affirmations. So many people, myself included, scoffed at affirmations. Then we tried them. And I can assure you that they can be tremendously effective in changing the way you look at the world and yourself. Check out my post on affirmations:

    http://bolstablog.wordpress.com/2008/07/27/affirmations/

    May you find the peace you’re looking for, Samantha.

  7. Nadine Says:

    I find it amazing that when one is in the throws of hell emotionally; the only advise given is to read a book. When one commits suicide, it is not to kill the body you know; it is to kill the pain of the mind. And, it is not when one is in the full depth of depression that one commits suicide; it is when one is on the upper level of wellbeing; but is extremely aware of the downfalls of depression and pain that follows. The drop in spirit, the drop of life itself, the elimination of faith or anything that could sustain you. How sad that there are so many who have no one to sustain them. Nobody to extend themselves in order to hold one in love and security and to ensure that there is a commitment that will last for more than a day or two.
    When will people start really caring in an active way to make a difference in another’s life. To really extend themselves out of their comfort zone of the energy that it takes to help another. And, will I ever witness this in my lifetime?

  8. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Nadine, I was saying the exact same thing to a friend of mine twenty minutes ago whose friend’s son is considering suicide. When someone is in that state of mind, the odds that they would be able to listen, grasp and assimilate any reasonable argument is remote. That said, I have seen a number of people who are very close to me reach out actively and repeatedly to friends who had threatened suicide. Most of the time, it did not work, and the person ended their life. But it wasn’t for lack of trying on other people’s part.

    Your argument is a little too black and white in some parts. There are vastly different reasons why people kill themselves and their physical, mental and emotional conditions can vary dramatically. I do agree with you that it’s the love and caring of another human being that sometimes can make the difference. It doesn’t work all the time, but it’s pretty much the only thing that has a chance at succeeding.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

