My “Close to Home” Cartoons

I’ve been writing ideas for Close To Home, a nationally syndicated cartoon, since 1999. I send my ideas to John McPherson, the panel’s creator, and he picks what he likes. Here are some of the ideas he turned into cartoons.

Click here to see my cartoons for Strange Brew, another syndicated cartoon.

Click here to see my cartoons for Stage Left, a strip I created with Steve Mark, a cartoonist friend.

cth-starbucks-computer

cth-jaws-soundtrack

cth-thoracic-park

(John surprised me by using my name in this one!)


cth-spiked-lunch
cth-telemarketer-training
cth-valentines-dilemmacth-vegans-posecth-wheel-of-misfortunecth-xmas-burnoutcth-veggies-for-gaming-pointscth-volleyball-car-repaif
cth-cell-phone-moviecth-panic-be-gonecth-personal-airbagcth-scoreboard-email

cth-laugh-trackcth-lol-sign-on-date
cth-family-secretscth-flood-insurancecth-gretsky-paperboycth-hiring-death
cth-dog-car-washcth-email-termination
cth-crack-housecth-dander-domescth-decoy-picniccth-doorbell-cardiologistcth-computer-repairs-sldegehammercth-dentist-bully
cth-big-goofy-dorkcth-boring-dentistcth-bumper-stickercth-bunny-hopcth-cannon-shuttlecth-car-spatula

cth-bank-chairty
cth-automated-chirojogcth-thanksgiving-table-tvcth-in-house-weatherman

Tags: , ,

14 Responses to “My “Close to Home” Cartoons”

  1. Sharon Johnson Says:

    Phil, These are all great ideas. Very funny stuff. You are surely meant to be a writer. Thanks for sending them. :D Sharon

  2. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Thanks much, Sharon. I appreciate that!

  3. Laura Dee Says:

    Very Funny Phil!
    My favorite is ‘Thoracic Park’ …still laughing :)

  4. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Thanks, Laura! After I told my chiropractor about the idea, he said he’s going to create a Thoracic Park area for kids!

  5. annie Says:

    cute! thank you for sharing.

    annie!

  6. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Thank you for thanking!

  7. Ron Ross Says:

    Phil,
    I thought the ideas were great also.

    Ron Ross

  8. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Thanks, Ron! That’s especially meaningful coming from a cartoon connoisseur!

  9. Miriam Evers Says:

    Phil, thanks for posting these. I had a good laugh over several of them – especially the helium balloon on the baby’s diaper and the gaming minutes for vegetables eaten. You are very creative.
    Miriam Evers

  10. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Thanks for the kind words, Miriam. Glad you had some good laughs!

  11. Mary Says:

    Hi Phil,

    Your ideas are very funny. I have a couple of questions for you. First, do you get gag writing gigs from this web site? Next, where do you get clean copies of the strips; the ones on amureprints are watermarked. Finally, is John good with your publishing the work?

    The reason I ask is that I work with John as well. Very sporadically, but I have a portfolio of my ideas which have been turned into CTH strips. I’d love to get them out there in some way.

    I’d love to hear from you.

    Mary Hollyer

  12. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Nice to hear from you, Mary! No, I don’t get gag-writing gigs from this website or any other source. That’s something I do just for fun and I’m not actively seeking other outlets for it.

    I just copy the images on http://www.gocomics.com/closetohome

    Yes, I asked John if I could speak publicly about writing ideas for him and he was all for it.

  13. MNCyn Says:

    I seldom read the ‘Sunday Funnies’ because for the most part I just don’t find them funny. When admitting this, I often get questioned about my sense of humor or lack there-of. However, while reading your cartoons today, I had a genuine LOL experience! And no one was here to see it!

  14. Phil Bolsta Says:

    What were you thinking, MNCyn? You could have easily turned on your computer’s built-in camera, recorded your guffaws and posted the video on YouTube!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 409 other followers

