The Slo-Mo Challenge

slow-motion-drop-of-cream-cup-of-coffee

A slow-motion capture of a drop of cream hitting a cup of coffee

I wrote in an earlier post how I often have to remind myself to breathe. Too often, I’m thinking too fast and moving too quickly, even when I’m sitting still.

About a week ago, I got another reminder. Something was hanging up my e-mail app: whatever I typed appeared on the screen one . . . letter . . . at . . . a . . . time. I kept on having to stop and wait for the letters to catch up with me. It was maddening! But then I thought, Hmmm, what if I typed that slowly on purpose? Would I be able to do that? What would the consequences be? So today I gave myself a challenge: Move in slow motion—be aware of every move I make, no matter how subtle—and see what happens.

What happened was wonderful.

• I was more present, more aware of whatever I was doing in the moment, from washing my hands to turning the key in my car’s ignition.

• I was more aware of my surroundings while I drove. I looked slowly to my left and right and took in the landscape.

• The world seemed to slow down too. I felt like I had all the time in the world to do what I wanted to do.

• I had less mental chatter in my head because I was thinking more slowly and clearly and being more present.

• I was more peaceful and calm. I no longer felt like I was in a race to see how much I could get done.

• I naturally started to breathe more deeply, which generated a virtuous circle—breathing slowly and deeply brought peace, which led to breathing more slowly and deeply.

How important is breathing? I like this passage from page 244 of Eckhart Tolle‘s book, A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose

Someone recently showed me the annual prospectus of a large spiritual organization. When I looked through it, I was impressed by the wide choice of interesting seminars and workshops. It reminded me of a smorgasbord, one of those Scandinavian buffets where you can take your pick from a huge variety of enticing dishes. The person asked me whether I could recommend one or two courses. “I don’t know,” I said. “They all look so interesting. But I do know this,” I added. “Be aware of your breathing as often as you are able, whenever you remember. Do that for one year, and it will be more powerfully transformative than attending all of these courses. And it’s free.”

Tolle added this on page 246:

Being aware of your breath forces you into the present moment—the key to all inner transformation. Whenever you are conscious of the breath, you are absolutely present. You may also notice that you cannot think and be aware of your breathing. Conscious breathing stops your mind. But far from being in a trance or half asleep, you are fully awake and highly alert. You are not falling below thinking, but rising above it.

It’s clear that by breathing more consciously and moving more slowly, I’ll get more done and enjoy whatever I’m doing more. Why? I’ll make fewer time-consuming mistakes. I’ll bump into things and drop things less often because I’m paying attention and being mindful.

I also expect that I will get to sleep more quickly because I won’t need a winding down period. I’ll go to bed feeling peaceful and relaxed.

The challenge now is to sustain this slower, more relaxed pace. Speaking of challenges, I’d like to challenge you to slow down for the next thirty minutes and let me know if your results are consistent with mine.

I look forward to slowly reading your stories!




Click here to view all my posts about Eckhart Tolle.





Click here to see all my posts featuring my life stories.






ABOUT PHIL BOLSTA

Through God’s Eyes: Finding Peace and Purpose in a Troubled World, is a road map for living a more peaceful, beautiful life. It’s the one book that explains how dozens of spiritual principles interact, how to weave them together into a cohesive worldview, and how to practically apply this spiritual wisdom to daily life.

Who will benefit from reading Through God’s Eyes?
Anyone who is on a spiritual path, or wants to start one.
Anyone who loves life, or wants to learn how to.
Anyone who is happy, or wants to be happier.

Click here to order your copy of Through God’s Eyes from GodsEyesAmazon.com.
For an inscribed copy, click here to e-mail Phil for information.

Click on the link below to download a FREE 28-page chapter!
SEE EVERY MOMENT AS A GIFT

Click here to visit the Through God’s Eyes website.

Click here to ask Phil to add you to his e-mail list for updates on his blog and books.

Here is a two-minute video introduction to Through God’s Eyes.



Like to learn more about Through God’s Eyes? Here is a free 44-page PDF sampler from the book that includes:

• an overview of the book
• the complete table of contents
• the Foreword by Caroline Myss
• my Introduction
• chapter excerpts
• a sample end-of-chapter story
• endorsements from authors and thought leaders

Just click on the link below to download your free PDF sampler!
THROUGH GOD’S EYES PDF SAMPLER




Schedule a Mastery Mentoring phone session with Phil to learn how to apply principles of spiritual living more effortlessly and effectively. Priced affordably! Click here to e-mail Phil for details.



logic-of-living-a-spiritual-life-book-cover

Phil’s eBook, The Logic of Living a Spiritual Life: Supporting a Life of Faith Through Logic and Reason, is now available for 99 cents.

Order it at GodIsLogical.com.

In this eBook, you’ll find answers to questions like:
• What is the cornerstone of a spiritual life, and why?
• What is the secret to liberating yourself from other people’s judgments and expectations?
• How do you reconcile the “free will vs. Divine Will” conundrum?
• Why is there an exception to “Everything happens for a reason”?


Those who worship logic instead of God are only half right. Not only is it logical to believe in God and to live a faith-based life, the existence of a loving, benevolent God that governs all creation is perhaps the only systematic worldview that explains every aspect of life.



SiSe_fullcover_final.inddPhil is also the author of Sixty Seconds: One Moment Changes Everything, a collection of 45 inspiring, life-changing stories from prominent authors and thought leaders he interviewed. The roster of storytellers includes Wayne Dyer, Deepak Chopra, Neale Donald Walsch, Caroline Myss, Larry Dossey, Rachel Naomi Remen, Bernie Siegel, Dean Ornish, and Christiane Northrup. Sixty Seconds has been translated into four languages: Italian, German, Spanish, and Portuguese. Reading this book is like spending a few minutes face to face with each of the contributors and listening to their personal stories.

Click here to order Sixty Seconds.

Click here to read unsolicited testimonials from readers.

Learn more by visiting the official Sixty Seconds website.

Here is a three-minute video introduction to Sixty Seconds.





Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 409 other followers

