Your Turn, Yogananda

master-paramahansa-yogananda

The image of Paramahansa Yogananda I keep on my desktop

One of the word processing files I had open on my laptop Friday was obscuring much of the image of Paramahansa Yogananda that I always keep visible on my desktop. Like I’ve done a thousand times before, I clicked on Yogananda’s image to bring it to the front so I could see it clearly.

Much to my amazement, the instant I clicked on it, the image began to move. It rotated to the right an eighth of a turn, paused, then continued rotating until it came to rest at a full quarter turn from where it started.

I gaped at the screen, not moving for a full thirty seconds, while I tried to process what I had just seen. If there was a logical reason why what just happened happened, I could not for the life of me figure out what that might be.

Yes, there was a Rotate Right command in the pulldown menu under the Tools menu at the top of the screen but I hadn’t even come close to clicking near the Tools menu, much less the pulldown menu that would have followed, which also would have required a click. And even if I had miraculously clicked on the Rotate Right command, the rotation would have been instantaneous, not gradual with a pause halfway through.

My mind raced back and forth: Was it a computer glitch or did something profound just happen? After all, I had had amazing energetic experiences regarding Yogananda before. Ultimately, I decided to view whatever happened as a mystery rather than a mishap—and a reminder and an opportunity to express gratitude for forces beyond my understanding.


Postscript: Seven weeks after I wrote this post, another guru photo on my desktop moved . . . and moved me in the process. Click here to read that post.




Click here to view all my posts about Paramahansa Yogananda and Self-Realization Fellowship.






Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Your Turn, Yogananda”

  1. Axel Guedes Says:

    Dear Phil Bolsta!!!

    I’m Axel, from Brazil, your friend! And I am writing you to tell you that I want the success of your book! – Six Seconds – one moment changes everything.

    In divine friendship!

  2. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Thanks so much, Axel! I appreciate your thoughtfulness!

  3. Tatjana Says:

    Dear Phil!

    I was looking for some of Yogananda’s photos just to pick up one with His beautiful eyes looking straight, as I wished to put it on my screensaver. The Google gave me this link and now I find myself reading this interesting post, and about your “Sixty Seconds” book, too.
    What happened to you with your desktop and the photo rotating is just another sign from Him to you. You are blessed ;-). I just know this state when mind thinks that is a sort of an illusion, but the innerself experience with the flow of energy tells you that you were not deluding yourself. However, I am glad that you shared your experience on the net, because among the other things and proofs of Yogananda’s presence, this also led me to your book, which I’m going to order from amazon.
    Please, contact me at my email, cause as I see, your book is not published yet in my country. Who knows, the Master’s ways are impredictable :-)

    All the blessing in your life,

    Tatjana

  4. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Thank you so much, Tatjana! I agree with you completely. And thank you for ordering me book! Please let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 397 other followers

