Locked My Keys in the Car? Awesome!

man-looking-into-car-keys-locked-in-ignitionBefore a recent massage appointment, I stopped at the local library, just a few miles from my client’s house. The day was flowing smoothly and I was on track for our 5:30 appointment.

After taking care of my library  business, I reached for my car keys and . . . GAH! No keys! I rushed back to my car, peered inside and saw my keys lying on the front seat, taunting me with casual indifference.

I hadn’t locked my keys in my car in a good ten years! I always hold my keys in my hand when I lock the door. Well, “always” minus once, I guess. After my initial wave of panic subsided, my thoughts flashed back to the time when I crashed into a snowbank on my way home from Chicago. In my post about that experience, I wrote:

After all, there was some reason why all this was happening and I was intent on keeping my awareness high so as not to miss any clues.

Instantly, I switched from panicked and upset to calm and curious. Feeling an urge to look down, I saw a quarter at my feet. Hey, I’ll take any sign I can get. So far, so good.

I called my massage client and explained the situation. The library security guard I then consulted with told me that the police do not open locked cars and that I’d need to call a locksmith. My intuition, however, told me to call the police, so I did. Two officers arrived within minutes, confirmed I was not a fugitive from the law, took out some tools and popped my door open. Relief! Gratitude! Joy! I hopped in my car and headed off for my massage appointment, which went beautifully.

This episode perfectly illustrates the value of choosing how we react to stressful situations. By trusting that everything was unfolding as it should, I was able to enjoy the experience instead of getting all worked up and ruining a perfectly good evening.

In such circumstances, I always challenge myself to look for the gift in what was happening—and I found plenty of gifts.

First, it was a reminder to be even more certain that I was holding my keys when I locked my car. I was grateful that the situation was such that I was in no danger and that help was swift and free. This incident may have helped me prevent a future incident that would have been far more perilous and expensive.

Second, it was yet another reminder (like a recent stubbed toe that hurt like the dickens) to   S L O W   D O W N   and be fully present in every moment. The more I hurry, the more I mess up.

Finally, it was a reminder to trust that divine intelligence has a better plan for my life than I do and to greet everything that comes my way with humility and gratitude with these three words always on my lips: As you wish.

Hey, even if you think these so-called gifts are a bunch of hooey, I’d rather be upbeat than downcast and cheerful instead of fearful when “bad” things happen. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go polish my rose-colored glasses!





Click here to see all my posts featuring my life stories.






ABOUT PHIL BOLSTA

Through God’s Eyes: Finding Peace and Purpose in a Troubled World, is a road map for living a more peaceful, beautiful life. It’s the one book that explains how dozens of spiritual principles interact, how to weave them together into a cohesive worldview, and how to practically apply this spiritual wisdom to daily life.

Who will benefit from reading Through God’s Eyes?
Anyone who is on a spiritual path, or wants to start one.
Anyone who loves life, or wants to learn how to.
Anyone who is happy, or wants to be happier.

Click here to order your copy of Through God’s Eyes from GodsEyesAmazon.com.
For an inscribed copy, click here to e-mail Phil for information.

Click on the link below to download a FREE 28-page chapter!
SEE EVERY MOMENT AS A GIFT

Click here to visit the Through God’s Eyes website.

Click here to ask Phil to add you to his e-mail list for updates on his blog and books.

Here is a two-minute video introduction to Through God’s Eyes.



Like to learn more about Through God’s Eyes? Here is a free 44-page PDF sampler from the book that includes:

• an overview of the book
• the complete table of contents
• the Foreword by Caroline Myss
• my Introduction
• chapter excerpts
• a sample end-of-chapter story
• endorsements from authors and thought leaders

Just click on the link below to download your free PDF sampler!
THROUGH GOD’S EYES PDF SAMPLER




Schedule a Mastery Mentoring phone session with Phil to learn how to apply principles of spiritual living more effortlessly and effectively. Priced affordably! Click here to e-mail Phil for details.



logic-of-living-a-spiritual-life-book-cover

Phil’s eBook, The Logic of Living a Spiritual Life: Supporting a Life of Faith Through Logic and Reason, is now available for 99 cents.

Order it at GodIsLogical.com.

In this eBook, you’ll find answers to questions like:
• What is the cornerstone of a spiritual life, and why?
• What is the secret to liberating yourself from other people’s judgments and expectations?
• How do you reconcile the “free will vs. Divine Will” conundrum?
• Why is there an exception to “Everything happens for a reason”?


Those who worship logic instead of God are only half right. Not only is it logical to believe in God and to live a faith-based life, the existence of a loving, benevolent God that governs all creation is perhaps the only systematic worldview that explains every aspect of life.



SiSe_fullcover_final.inddPhil is also the author of Sixty Seconds: One Moment Changes Everything, a collection of 45 inspiring, life-changing stories from prominent authors and thought leaders he interviewed. The roster of storytellers includes Wayne Dyer, Deepak Chopra, Neale Donald Walsch, Caroline Myss, Larry Dossey, Rachel Naomi Remen, Bernie Siegel, Dean Ornish, and Christiane Northrup. Sixty Seconds has been translated into four languages: Italian, German, Spanish, and Portuguese. Reading this book is like spending a few minutes face to face with each of the contributors and listening to their personal stories.

Click here to order Sixty Seconds.

Click here to read unsolicited testimonials from readers.

Learn more by visiting the official Sixty Seconds website.

Here is a three-minute video introduction to Sixty Seconds.





Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Locked My Keys in the Car? Awesome!”

  1. Anita Joy Says:

    Of late, I have been guided to read a book I purchased several years ago called “The Body is the Barometer of the Soul” by Annette Noontil, an Australian medical intuitive who passed over on 30 June 2005. A chapter in her book is titled “The Car is the Barometer of Your Direction”, and I was reading this last evening in relation to a ‘lemon’ I had for 11 years; a Toyota Celica I just loved and practically rebuilt! I digress – Annette writes that “if you own a car and you have troubles with it, you need to look into your direction also, because your car is an extension of your direction to follow your purpose in life”.
    Keys left locked inside vehicle = unable to see how you can achieve your direction.

    Happy Diwali Phil!

  2. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Never heard that concept before, Anita Joy, but it makes perfect sense. In the case of locked keys in the car, I don’t see that as relevant to the “car as barometer” discussion. The fact that it involved my car was incidental.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 403 other followers

