Archive for November 10th, 2009

Here’s Why Your Book Is Unpublished

November 10, 2009

snoopy-on-doghouse-typing-woodstock





Mystified that your terrific manuscript hasn’t been snapped up by a high-powered literary agent? Guess what, it’s not them, it’s you. Before you drop another manuscript in the mail, hunker down and do these two things:







#1: IMPROVE THE QUALITY OF YOUR WRITING

Even if you’ve been making a living as a professional writer, do not assume that publishers will swoon over the quality of your work. I spent ten long months writing a business book with Tom Gegax, founder of the Tires Plus chain, only to hear from publishers that the writing was mediocre and that they weren’t interested in our magnum opus.

Yes, that criticism stung. I had been writing magazine articles for the last dozen years, and consistently heard from editors, interviewees and the general public that I was a wonderful writer. And I was a good writer! In hindsight, however, I wasn’t good enough.

After some indignant wailing and gnashing of teeth, I finally realized that (more…)