A Wonderful Definition of God

yukt

Swami Sri Yukteswar


I really like this six-word definition of God given to Paramahansa Yogananda by his guru, Swami Sri Yukteswar:

God is that supreme intelligence which governs everything.

But I also like this GOD acronym that just occurred to me:

Governing Omnipresent Divinity

Whatever and whoever God is to you, may you find comfort in God’s blessings.





Click here to view all my posts about Paramahansa Yogananda and Self-Realization Fellowship.






Tags: , , ,

10 Responses to “A Wonderful Definition of God”

  1. Global Patriot Says:

    I love this quote, so simple in one sense, yet speaks to the fact that everything is connected and exists with an underlying fabric of intelligence. If we could all embrace that notion, and think about how all of our thoughts, words and actions affect the entire world, this would be a much better planet.

  2. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Well said, Global Patriot. Swami Sri Yukteswar’s definition jumped out at me when I first read it and I’ve kept it close to my heart ever since.

  3. Nabha Says:

    I love that acronym!

    Blessings,
    Nabha

  4. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Glad you like it! It just occurred to me and I wanted to share it.

  5. A Free Spirit Says:

    Beyond divine attributes, do we mean the same thing when we use the word “God”? I bet there are family resemblances, at best.
    In case you are interested, I’ve just posted on this question at http://deligentia.wordpress.com/2009/10/25/what-does-god-mean/

  6. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Sure, everyone interprets the word “God” a little differently, A Free Spirit, but I think it’s generally understood what is meant.

  7. Shelton Says:

    The definition is so right. I mean it just says it all, even the acronym fits well.

  8. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Thanks, Shelton! I appreciate that!

  9. happy Says:

    … and thats what Buddha called ‘Nature’

  10. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Whatever you’d like to call it works for me, Happy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 353 other followers

