When the Spirit Is Ready, the Teacher Appears

master-paramahansa-yogananda

Paramahansa Yogananda




I felt so drawn to Paramahansa Yogananda that it felt like I was coming home. And I wondered why we all are drawn to different paths and different teachers. What were the determining factors—our stage of development, our scared contract, karma, style of teaching, similar wavelengths, all of the above? Then I read this passage in Eckhart Tolles magnificent book, The Power of Now.





If you are drawn to an enlightened teacher, it is because there is already enough presence in you to recognize presence in another. There were many people who did not recognize Jesus or the Buddha, as there are and always have been many people who are drawn to false teachers. Egos are drawn to bigger egos. Darkness cannot recognize light.



Nuff said!





Click here to view all my posts about Eckhart Tolle.





Click here to view all my posts about Paramahansa Yogananda and Self-Realization Fellowship.






Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “When the Spirit Is Ready, the Teacher Appears”

  1. Kim Wencl Says:

    It’s great to find someone else who has been inexplicably drawn to another person! That is exactly how I felt about Kathryn Harwig. I knew part of the reason I felt so connected to her was because she was a direct link to my daughter … but I also knew there was much more to it than that. But what? I questioned myself alot in those days because I had never felt so pulled to another person before. The path became very clear though and I followed — even though I questioned myself daily and was, well … a lttle scared! I had never felt so driven, so compelled to do anything in all my life than I was to embark on the path I’ve been on for the past five plus years, and Kathryn played a HUGE part in that. My fears were very normal, but they were also completely unfounded and my journey has been nothing short of amazing and JOYOUS! I’ve come to realize it was my destiny and my purpose. For that, I will be eternally grateful.

  2. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Yes, isn’t it amazing when we feel so compelled to go in a direction that leads out of our comfort zone. There is such clarity, yet there is also doubt and fear, with a little awe mixed in for good measure!

  3. Global Patriot Says:

    I remember being handed a copy of Autobiography of a Yogi when I was just 16. Reading about Yogananda’s journey felt more like an old experience than a new one. The energy that came from those pages seemed very familiar, like reading about an old friend.

    Decades (more than I’d like to count) later I still refer to his writing for inspiration and always smile as the passages ring with that same familiarity and resonance.

  4. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Very well stated, Global Patriot. I felt the same way. Although I doubt I could have made sense of the book when I was 16. I didn’t read it until I was 42!

  5. lovinginthenow Says:

    I wholeheartedly agree! When spirit’s ready, teachers appear. They can be teachers that write books, and then I find myself drawn to a shelf in the library or at a bookstore, or they can be teachers who are people that we know. :) I realize they’ve always been there, but now is the time that their energy resonates with me.

    Namaste~

  6. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Well put, lovingthesnow. Books must be very patient creatures, waiting as long as it takes for us to be ready for them!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 353 other followers

