Daryl Markham Honors His Brother on “X Factor”


Forty-year-old cabinet maker Daryl Markham’s X Factor audition on August 29, 2009 was incredibly emotional and poignant. Markham had planned to audition the year before but had bowed out to serve as best man at his brother Gary’s wedding that day. Soon after, tragedy struck. Here is the whole story, reported by Tom Latchem in News of the World on August 30, 2009:


Gary and Daryl Markham on Gary's wedding day

This was Daryl Markham on the day he should have been at his X Factor audition last year . . . beaming with pride as best man at his brother’s wedding.

Just SIX WEEKS later his beloved younger brother was diagnosed with lung cancer. Six weeks after that he was DEAD at just 37.

Viewers last night saw bald-headed Daryl mark the anniversary of the heartbreak with an incredible audition for X Factor one year on.

His voice breaking with emotion, he told the News of the World: “Gary was everything to me and I can’t tell you how much I miss him. There’s not a minute that goes by when I don’t think of him.”

HUGGED

“I was supposed to enter the X Factor last year but was delighted to have to put it off because Gary was getting married on the day of the auditions.

“After he died I decided to go for it. I want to make Gary proud.”

He went on: “I feel him around me. He was a massive X Factor fan, so I’m hoping he is looking down on me like a fifth judge and looking out for me.”

Daryl’s performance of Crazy Horse’s I Don’t Wanna Talk About It was even more poignant because Gary’s nine-year-old son Kian was there to see it.

He rushed on stage and hugged his beloved uncle. Daryl, 40, promised his dying brother he would care for Kian, and he now sees him at weekends. He said: “I gave him my word I would look after his boy and I meant it.”

Daryl admitted: “Kian used to laugh at me when I said I was going to enter the X Factor, but the first thing he said after I sang was, ‘Wow, you’re not rubbish after all!

“His approval means just as much to me as Simon Cowell’s. To see Kian brimming with pride was an amazing feeling. He’s such a great kid and is a mirror image of his dad.

“I just want him to be proud of me. I’m doing this for him and Gary, and to make my family proud of me.”

Daryl dreamed of being a pop star from a young age. He started entering local singing competitions in the early 1990s.

“I would win a few hundred quid here and there,” he recalled. “But I never thought I would end up on the X Factor.

“I just didn’t have the confidence to sing in front of huge crowds.”

After leaving school Daryl became a cabinet maker. Gary then followed him into the trade and they set up their own business near their home in Seaford, East Sussex.

Daryl said: “We did everything together – work, going out, fishing. We had such fun.

“When Gary got a bit drunk he would give me a kiss and tell me he loved me. We were so close.

“Now I go to work and it hurts to see his workbench without him there. I couldn’t bear to bring in anyone else so I work alone now.”

Heavy smoker Gary died in September last year – six weeks after being diagnosed with lung cancer.

Daryl helped him through the pain as the disease quickly took hold and Gary grew frail.

“I used to rub his back and he would tell me he felt so at ease with me,” said Daryl.

CARING

“I wished there was more I could do but you just have to be there and stay strong – despite how hard it is. Gary was so fit it was a total shock to us all.

“He was always the natural father, and really caring to Kian. They don’t come better than him.”

Daryl now hopes the X Factor will be his lucky break after a slump in his business due to the credit crunch.

“People aren’t buying furniture as much so work has slowed a bit.

“Fingers crossed being in the X Factor will lead to something good.

“I’ve got a good feeling about it.”

But while he hopes his brother is looking out for him, he added sorrowfully:

“I would swap it all to have one more moment together with him.”

Daryl Markham and his nephew Kian, who ran onstage after Gary's audition song






ABOUT PHIL BOLSTA

through-gods-eyes-book-cover
If you feel more stressed than blessed . . . if you have more confusion than clarity about how to live your beliefs . . . if you long to live a richer, happier, more meaningful life . . . you will find a wealth of insight and guidance in Through God’s Eyes: Finding Peace and Purpose in a Troubled World.

Through God’s Eyes is a road map for living a more peaceful, beautiful life. It’s the only book that explains how dozens of spiritual principles interact, how to weave them together into a cohesive worldview, and how to practically apply this spiritual wisdom to daily life.

Readers everywhere are discovering that when you challenge yourself to look through God’s eyes, the world around you changes, and so do you.

Who will benefit from reading Through God’s Eyes?
Anyone who is on a spiritual path, or wants to be.
Anyone who loves life, or wants to learn how to.
Anyone who is happy, or wants to be happier.


Click here to order your copy of Through God’s Eyes from GodsEyesAmazon.com.
For an inscribed copy, click here to e-mail Phil for information.

Click here to visit the Through God’s Eyes website.

Click on the link below to download a FREE 28-page chapter!
SEE EVERY MOMENT AS A GIFT

Click here to read endorsements from authors and thought leaders.

Click here to read unsolicited testimonials from readers.

Click here to ask Phil to add you to his e-mail list for updates on his blog and books.

Here is a two-minute video introduction to Through God’s Eyes.




Like to learn more about Through God’s Eyes? Here is a free 44-page PDF sampler from the book that includes:

• an overview of the book
• the complete table of contents
• the Foreword by Caroline Myss
• my Introduction
• chapter excerpts
• a sample end-of-chapter story
• endorsements from authors and thought leaders

Just click on the link below to download your free PDF sampler!
THROUGH GOD’S EYES PDF SAMPLER




Schedule a Mastery Mentoring phone session with Phil to learn how to apply principles of spiritual living more effortlessly and effectively. Priced affordably! Click here to e-mail Phil for details.



logic-of-living-a-spiritual-life-book-cover

Phil’s eBook, The Logic of Living a Spiritual Life: Supporting a Life of Faith Through Logic and Reason, is now available for 99 cents.

Order it at GodIsLogical.com.

In this eBook, you’ll find answers to questions like:
• What is the cornerstone of a spiritual life, and why?
• What is the secret to liberating yourself from other people’s judgments and expectations?
• How do you reconcile the “free will vs. Divine Will” conundrum?
• Why is there an exception to “Everything happens for a reason”?


Those who worship logic instead of God are only half right. Not only is it logical to believe in God and to live a faith-based life, the existence of a loving, benevolent God that governs all creation is perhaps the only systematic worldview that explains every aspect of life.



sixty-seconds-coverPhil is also the author of Sixty Seconds: One Moment Changes Everything, a collection of 45 inspiring, life-changing stories from prominent authors and thought leaders he interviewed. The roster of storytellers includes Wayne Dyer, Deepak Chopra, Neale Donald Walsch, Caroline Myss, Larry Dossey, Rachel Naomi Remen, Bernie Siegel, Dean Ornish, and Christiane Northrup. Sixty Seconds has been translated into four languages: Italian, German, Spanish, and Portuguese. Reading this book is like spending a few minutes face to face with each of the contributors and listening to their personal stories.

Click here to order Sixty Seconds.

Learn more by visiting the official Sixty Seconds website.

Click here to read unsolicited testimonials from readers.

Here is a three-minute video introduction to Sixty Seconds.





Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

