Henry David Thoreau, I’m Not

My Wisconsin cabin retreat

In a recent post, I wrote that as I was driving down a busy highway to the ginormous Mall of America, the thought crossed my mind that it would be nice to leave the fast pace of the big city behind and retreat to a cabin in the woods.

I was speaking metaphorically, so imagine my surprise when my long-lost friend, comedian Kristin Anderson, posted on Facebook that I would be welcome to use her family’s cabin. Wow. I lobbed Kristin a phone call to make sure she was serious, got directions from her husband John (founder of JDA Design Architects), and off I went on a two-hour trek into Wisconsin.

I got to the cabin in the evening as darkness was falling. It was a cozy, quaint little home away from home and a welcome change from the hustle and bustle of Minneapolis. After some reading, I turned out the light early and just listened in the darkness to . . . nothing. It was totally quiet, almost eerily so.

The driveway to the highway

I drifted off to sleep but awoke around three o’clock. It was so quiet that every little sound set off subtle alarm bells in my head. I was reasonably sure I wasn’t hearing an intruder or a wild beast, but that element of doubt crept in and refused to leave.

Unable to go back to sleep, I got up to read a bit and fix something to eat. A little while later, I started wrestling with the big question: Should I or shouldn’t I? I decided I should. I threw on my winter jacket and headed outside. It was a quarter after five in the morning.

I had never watched the sun come up before. (Insert shocked gasps from normal people.) I wanted to make the most of my cabin retreat and figured that this was a perfect opportunity to commune with the great outdoors and finally witness one of Mother Nature’s greatest hits. It was a little chilly but I was determined to tough it out.

The view from outside the front door

Funny thing about being a city boy in the country: an occasional rustling of leaves in the deathly stillness before dawn can be very unsettling. I expected to feel the peaceful bliss of serenity as I stood among the pines gazing out at the lake. Instead, each rustling bush activated my “fight or flight” instincts and my imagination ran wild. My mind was certain that each momentary graze against a bush was a rampaging bear or deranged killer . . . or perhaps a squirrel with bad intentions. It’s remarkable how similar those three things sound in the darkness of the woods.

Shivering, I tried to calm my runaway imagination by gazing up at the constellations in the clear night sky. One of the stars in the Big Dipper started moving; it wasn’t a star at all but some kind of light that was coming my way.

I instantly flashed to Flight of the Navigator and The 4400. Oh-oh, I thought, I’m about to be abducted by aliens only to be returned to Earth eight years later, much to the surprise of grieving relatives and a suspicious government. Or maybe the time-space-continuum-challenged aliens deposit me back on the dock a month before I left. Then I could be my own best friend!

The stairs down to the dock

Twenty minutes later, I wrapped the details of that story up in my head and noticed that it was definitely a bit lighter out. I looked around me. No sun. Now let’s see, the sun rises in the east and sets in the . . . or is it the other way around? Damn. I can memorize a hundred years’ worth of baseball history and statistics but I can never keep that straight. Not that it would have done me any good; when God handed out directional sense, I was off wandering aimlessly with the penguins.

Fifteen minutes later, it was lighter but there was still no sun and my feet were freezing so I abandoned my quest and headed back to the cabin. By no stretch of the imagination am I an outdoorsman, but even I didn’t think I could fail so miserably at trying to watch the sun come up.

Oh, well, I’m here for three more days. Maybe I’ll try Sunrise 101 again the night before I leave. I’m thinking I’ll have this whole “harmony with nature” thing figured out by then.






POSTSCRIPT:
Three days into my retreat, I am indeed synchronizing with nature’s rhythms. Click here to read my update and see photos of the majestic Trego Nature Trail along the Namekagon RIver.





Click here to see all my posts featuring my life stories.






ABOUT PHIL BOLSTA

through-gods-eyes-book-cover
If you feel more stressed than blessed . . . if you have more confusion than clarity about how to live your beliefs . . . if you long to live a richer, happier, more meaningful life . . . you will find a wealth of insight and guidance in Through God’s Eyes: Finding Peace and Purpose in a Troubled World.

Through God’s Eyes is a road map for living a more peaceful, beautiful life. It’s the only book that explains how dozens of spiritual principles interact, how to weave them together into a cohesive worldview, and how to practically apply this spiritual wisdom to daily life.

Readers everywhere are discovering that when you challenge yourself to look through God’s eyes, the world around you changes, and so do you.

Who will benefit from reading Through God’s Eyes?
Anyone who is on a spiritual path, or wants to be.
Anyone who loves life, or wants to learn how to.
Anyone who is happy, or wants to be happier.


Click here to order your copy of Through God’s Eyes from GodsEyesAmazon.com.
For an inscribed copy, click here to e-mail Phil for information.

Click here to visit the Through God’s Eyes website.

Click on the link below to download a FREE 28-page chapter!
SEE EVERY MOMENT AS A GIFT

Click here to read endorsements from authors and thought leaders.

Click here to read unsolicited testimonials from readers.

Click here to ask Phil to add you to his e-mail list for updates on his blog and books.

Here is a two-minute video introduction to Through God’s Eyes.




Like to learn more about Through God’s Eyes? Here is a free 44-page PDF sampler from the book that includes:

• an overview of the book
• the complete table of contents
• the Foreword by Caroline Myss
• my Introduction
• chapter excerpts
• a sample end-of-chapter story
• endorsements from authors and thought leaders

Just click on the link below to download your free PDF sampler!
THROUGH GOD’S EYES PDF SAMPLER




Schedule a Mastery Mentoring phone session with Phil to learn how to apply principles of spiritual living more effortlessly and effectively. Priced affordably! Click here to e-mail Phil for details.



logic-of-living-a-spiritual-life-book-cover

Phil’s eBook, The Logic of Living a Spiritual Life: Supporting a Life of Faith Through Logic and Reason, is now available for 99 cents.

Order it at GodIsLogical.com.

In this eBook, you’ll find answers to questions like:
• What is the cornerstone of a spiritual life, and why?
• What is the secret to liberating yourself from other people’s judgments and expectations?
• How do you reconcile the “free will vs. Divine Will” conundrum?
• Why is there an exception to “Everything happens for a reason”?


Those who worship logic instead of God are only half right. Not only is it logical to believe in God and to live a faith-based life, the existence of a loving, benevolent God that governs all creation is perhaps the only systematic worldview that explains every aspect of life.



sixty-seconds-coverPhil is also the author of Sixty Seconds: One Moment Changes Everything, a collection of 45 inspiring, life-changing stories from prominent authors and thought leaders he interviewed. The roster of storytellers includes Wayne Dyer, Deepak Chopra, Neale Donald Walsch, Caroline Myss, Larry Dossey, Rachel Naomi Remen, Bernie Siegel, Dean Ornish, and Christiane Northrup. Sixty Seconds has been translated into four languages: Italian, German, Spanish, and Portuguese. Reading this book is like spending a few minutes face to face with each of the contributors and listening to their personal stories.

Click here to order Sixty Seconds.

Learn more by visiting the official Sixty Seconds website.

Click here to read unsolicited testimonials from readers.

Here is a three-minute video introduction to Sixty Seconds.





Tags: , , ,

12 Responses to “Henry David Thoreau, I’m Not”

  1. Serena Says:

    Oh, Phil, I am so jealous! So glad you made it out to the cabin. I just know your days there will be a magnificent experience. By the way, what did you read and eat your first night there? I could almost picture everything as I read your post but was left hanging with those two bits of info. :)

  2. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Hi, Serena! I read some “Care of the Soul” by Thomas Moore before bed. When I woke up at 3 AM I read some sports stories I had saved on my laptop! For dinner, I fixed some quinoa and steamed broccoli and carrots I hope that satisfies your curiosity!

  3. Kim Wencl Says:

    Oh Phil – you are funny! I love your blatant honesty! Keep on communing and throw a little fun and r & r in too!

  4. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Thanks, Kim! I’m glad my ineptitude provided some amusement for you!

  5. mamastemama Says:

    Hmmmm. Sometimes leaving the fast pace of the city behind for a cabin in the woods is more than just putting distance between the two physical points. Sounds like you may need to put a little distance between the two spiritual points inside of you. I’m sure you will get there, but reaching that destination requires traveling inward–Godspeed, Phil!

  6. Phil Bolsta Says:

    True that, Lori! It’s taking me a day or two but I’m making progress!

  7. mamastemama Says:

    Oh, and it rises in the East Phil. Sounds like your sunset (in the West-buddy) may be more successfull tonight. ;-)

  8. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Thanks for the heads up, Lori!

  9. Serena Says:

    Reading Thomas Moore sounds very interesting and eating quinoa with vegetables sounds delicious. You must really like sports if you’re reading sports stories at three in the morning. :)

  10. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Gotta keep up with the sports world, Serena! I enjoy being a part of that world.

  11. Kathleen Says:

    Good for you, Phil, for putting your desires out there. The Universe delivered. I chuckled at your observations about what was going on inside of you as you got used to both the sounds and the silence of your woodsy environment. Once you’re beyond that, you will want this experience again … and again. Nothing like woods, water and a wide expanse of night sky to soothe one’s soul.

  12. Phil Bolsta Says:

    Well stated, Kathleen! I already know that I’ll miss this as soon as I leave!

Leave a Reply

