I Was Made for Thee

Paramahansa Yogananda



In this beautiful soul-poem, Paramahansa Yogananda expresses the breadth and depth of what it means to surrender completely and utterly to God—or as he liked to refer to the supreme intelligence which governs everything, as Divine Mother.




I WAS MADE FOR THEE

I was made for Thee alone. I was made for dropping flowers of devotion gently at Thy feet on the altar of the morning.

My hands were made to serve Thee willingly; to remain folded in adoration, waiting for Thy coming; and when Thou comest, to bathe Thy feet with my tears.

My voice was made to sing Thy glory.

My feet were made to seek Thy temples everywhere.

My eyes were made a chalice to hold Thy burning love and the wisdom falling from Thy nature’s hands.

My ears were made to catch the music of Thy footsteps echoing through the halls of space, and to hear Thy divine melodies flowing through all heart-tracts of devotion.

My lips were made to breathe forth Thy praises and Thine intoxicating inspirations.

My love was made to throw incandescent searchlight flames to find Thee, hidden in the forest of my desires.

My heart was made to respond to Thy call alone.

My soul was made to be the channel through which Thy love might flow uninterruptedly into all thirsty souls.



From Songs of the Soul by Paramahansa Yogananda. Reprinted with permission from Self-Realization Fellowship, Los Angeles, California.





In the CD, My Spirit Shall Live On: The Final Days of Paramahansa Yogananda, Sri Daya Mata leads a prayer based on the theme of the above poem—that the ideal use of the human body is to be an instrument of Divine Will. Here is a paraphrased and condensed version of that prayer, which is one of my favorites:

Guide me to behold only that which is good,
To speak only that which is pure and true,
To love as God loves, purely, unconditionally,
And fill my soul with that bliss which draws me ever forward down the path of that which is right.





Click here to view all my posts about Paramahansa Yogananda and Self-Realization Fellowship.






Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

