Archive for March 13th, 2017

Millennials Rising — Ximena Quan Kiu

March 13, 2017


woman-carrying-world-earthYou’ve likely heard the stereotypes about millennials: They’re a generation of entitled misfits. They lack a strong work ethic. They’re only interested in activities that offer immediate gratification.

You want the truth? This generation isn’t going to wreck the world. They’re going to save it.

If millennials feel entitled to anything, it’s the opportunity to be passionately engaged in a vision they can pour their entire heart and soul into. Show them what success looks like, then get out of the way and watch what awesome looks like.



I’d like to introduce you to Ximena Quan Kiu, one of nine millennials I interviewed who have faced and overcome significant obstacles that stood in the way of their goals and dreams. It’s a privilege to share their inspiring life stories with you here.

Click here to see all the Millennials Rising stories.




XIMENA QUAN KIU

Ximena Quan Kiu







Ximena Beltran Quan Kiu, born in 1987, is a founding partner of C1 Revolution, a Chicago-based creative agency specializing in brand amplification through the integration of influencer outreach, social/traditional media relations and event marketing.








At twenty-seven, I had a tough decision to make. I could either take a well-paying job doing something I loved to do, or I could take a big chance and launch a business of my own. I decided to do the safe thing: accept a job at Walgreen’s and start climbing the corporate ladder. Then I remembered the seven avocados.

I had recently seen a photo of seven avocados lined up in a row. Under the first avocado were the words “Not yet.” Under the next four, the same thing: “Not yet. Not yet. Not yet. Not yet.” Under the sixth one was one word: “Now.” Under the seventh was “Too late.” I thought, Yep, it’s go time.

One year earlier, I wouldn’t have dared to (more…)