Archive for December 19th, 2011

Mona Simpson’s Eulogy for Her Brother, Steve Jobs

December 19, 2011

Mona Simpson


Novelist Mona Simpson was twenty-five years old when she learned she had a long-lost brother. He turned out to be Steve Jobs, the brilliant and iconic founder of Apple Computer. They developed a close relationship and made up for lost time. When Jobs died on October 5, 2011, Simpson delivered this eulogy at his October 16 memorial service at the Memorial Church of Stanford University.




MONA SIMPSON’S EULOGY FOR STEVE JOBS

I grew up as an only child, with a single mother. Because we were poor and because I knew my father had emigrated from Syria, I imagined he looked like Omar Sharif. I hoped he would be rich and kind and would come into our lives (and our not yet furnished apartment) and help us. Later, after I’d met my father, I tried to believe he’d changed his number and left no forwarding address because he was (more…)